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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 
BOARD OF NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS 

4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin # C07 
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3257 

850/245-4355 
 
 

A P P L I C A T I O N   I N S T R U C T I O N S 
FOR ADMINISTRATOR-IN-TRAINING 

______________________________________________________________________________ 
 

***     PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT IN BLACK INK     *** 
PLEASE READ CAREFULLY 

 
 (Section 468.1695(2) and (4), Florida Statutes and Chapter 64B10-16, Florida Administrative Code) 

THE FOLLOWING ITEMS MUST BE INCLUDED WITH YOUR APPL ICATION:   
 
You must COMPLETE your AIT program and have your last report approved BEFORE you submit your application for the exam. 
 
APPLICANT'S QUESTIONS REGARDING APPLICATION STATUS:   Within thirty (30) days after the board office receives 
your application and fee, we will send an acknowledgment letter informing you of any deficiencies and the specific items required to 
complete your application.  If you do not receive notice that we have received your application within forty-five (45) days of the date 
mailed, please contact this office.  As a reminder to all applicants, Section 456.013(1)(a), Florida Statutes, provides that an incomplete 
application shall expire one year after initial filing with the department.  
 
Florida Laws and Rules:  A copy of Section 468, Part II, Florida Statutes and Rule Chapter 64B10, Florida Administrative Code are 
enclosed or you may download them at http://www.floridahealth.gov/licensing-and-regulation/nursing-home/index.html     This 
information is also available over the internet via our web site.  It is important to read this in order to determine your eligibility prior to 
applying, and to familiarize yourself with the statutes and board rules regarding your application for licensure as a nursing home 
administrator within the State of Florida. 
 
Fee Schedule:  A certified check or money order in the appropriate amount, made payable to the Department of Health, must be 
attached to your application.  Please staple the certified check or money order to page 1 of the application on the upper left part of the 
form.  Your application will not be processed without these fees.  These fees are required by law and include the following: 
 
 
1,000 Hour AIT Program: 
 
 Application Fee   $ 250.00 
 Unlicensed Activity Fee  $     5.00 
 Total Fee    $ 255.00 
 
2,000 Hour AIT Program: 
 

Application Fee   $ 350.00 
 Unlicensed Activity Fee  $     5.00 
 Total Fee    $ 355.00 
 
Final Official Undergraduate Transcript:   A final official transcript must be sent directly from the educational institution/college to 
this office.  Transcripts submitted by the applicant or indicating “issued to student” are not acceptable; a copy of your diploma will not 
be accepted in lieu of an official transcript.  Please note that it is your responsibility to follow-up with your educational institutions to 
ensure that they have received and complied with your requests.  The board office will notify you as items are received. 
 
AIT REVIEW AND STUDY TRAINING MANUALS:  Please be advised the Board of Nursing Home Administrators is not 
requiring these manuals, but simply suggesting them for your use.  To receive additional information on these manuals go to the 
board’s web site at http://www.floridahealth.gov/licensing-and-regulation/nursing-home/applications-and-forms/index.html  
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NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS 
 

--- ADMINISTRATOR-IN-TRAINING (AIT) --- 
 

APPLICATION CHECKLIST 
 

                                                                             
 
_____  1.  Application:                                                    

• All questions answered on all pages and if question not applicable, mark with N/A. 
• All “Yes” answers must be accompanied by an explanation or affidavit, as instructed. 
• Public Records Disclosure Form SSN                                                              

                                                             
_____  2.  Fees: 

• Please make certified check or money order payable to DOH–Board of Nursing Home 
Administrators.                                                            

                                                                          
_____  3.  Qualified Preceptor Agreement                                  
 
_____  4.  Training: 

     _____    a. AIT 1,000 hours        To qualify for a 1,000 hour Program, you must have  
 
(   )  Degree in Health Care Administration or 
(   )  Degree in Health Services Administration or  
(   )  Equivalent (must have 60 semester hours in required courses, complete course worksheet to    

         determine if you qualify.  Attach course description from school catalog if unsure)                                            
 
           
     _____    b. AIT 2,000 hours  A bachelors degree in any field 
 

                    
_____  5.  Official College Transcript 
 
_____  6.  AHCA Licensure and Life safety survey 
 
_____  7.   Facility Organizational Chart or complete form in application packet (Submit with application) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
RETURN APPLICATION, FEES, AND SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS TO:  
 
Florida Department of Health 
Board of Nursing Home Administrators 
Post Office Box 6330 
Tallahassee, Florida 32314-6330 
 
ADDITIONAL DOCUMENTATION, NOT ACCOMPANIED BY A FEE,  SHOULD BE SENT TO: 
 
Florida Department of Health 
Board of Nursing Home Administrators 
4052 Bald Cypress Way, BIN # C07 
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3257 
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CONFIDENTIAL AND EXEMPT FROM PUBLIC 
RECORDS DISCLOSURE 

 
 

Florida Department of Health 
Board of Nursing Home Administrators 

Name:  
___________________________________________________ 
  Last    First    Middle 
 
Social Security Number:  
____________________________________ 

 
 

This page is exempt from public records disclosure.  The 
Department of Health is required and authorized to collect 
Social Security Numbers relating to applications for 
professional licensure pursuant to Title 42 USCA § 666 
(a)(13).  For all professions regulated under Chapter 456, 
Florida Statutes, the collection of Social Security Numbers is 
required by section 456.013 (1)(a), Florida Statutes. 
  
 
 
 
 
 

 
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin # C07 
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3257 
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ADMINISTRATOR-IN-TRAINING APPLICATION 

(Client 801) 
 
Mail To: Board of Nursing Home Administrators 
    Post Office Box 6330 
    Tallahassee, Fl 32314-6330 
     http://www.floridahealth.gov/licensing-and-regulation/nursing-home/applications-and-

 forms/index.html  
    (850) 245-4355 
 
APPLICATION CATEGORY: (Must select one category – ONLY)   
 
[     ] 1,000 Hour AIT Program - $255.00 (1009)   [     ] 2,000 Hour AIT Program - $355.00 (1009) 
 
PROFILE DATA (Please print or type or application will be returned): 
 
1. NAME:  ________________________________________________________________________________ 
   (Last)    (First)    (Middle) 
 
2. MAILING ADDRESS:  ___________________________________________________________________ 
                                                        (Street and Number)                (Apt. #)               (City)               (State)         (Zip) 
 

PRIMARY LOCATION: _________________________________________________________________ 
                                                            (Street and Number)           (Apt. #)               (City)               (State)              (Zip) 
 
 
3. TELEPHONE: (___)_______________________(___)__________________________ 
  Home: Area Code/Phone Number Work: Area Code/Phone Number 
 
4. LICENSE NUMBER(If licensed another state): __________ 
 
5. E-MAIL ADDRESS:  _____________________________________________________ 
 (Email Notification :  If you want to notified of the status of your application by email please check the “YES”  box and 
 write your email address on the line provided above.  If you choose this form of notification you will receive information 
 regarding your application file through email.  You will be responsible for checking your email regularly and updating 
 your email address with the board office mqa_nursinghomeadm@doh.state.fl.us .  Under Florida law, email addresses are 
 public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public records request, do not provide an 
 email address or send electronic mail to our office. Instead contact the office by phone or in writing.  [   ] YES   [   ] NO 
 
6. US Citizen:  [  ] Yes  [  ]  No 
 
7. Date of Birth:  _________________   
 
8. PERSONAL DATA - We are required to ask that you furnish the following information as part of your 
 voluntary compliance with Section 2, Uniform Guidelines on Employee Selection Procedure (1978) 43 FR 
 38296 (August 25, 1978).  This information is gathered for statistical and reporting purposes only  and does 
 not in any way affect your candidacy for licensure. 

RACE:  [ ] Caucasian  [ ] African-American/Black  [ ] Hispanic  [ ] Asian  [ ] Native American  [ ] Other 
SEX:  [ ] Male  [ ] Female 
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9. EDUCATIONAL DATA: 
 
Degree Title:  ______________________________________________________ 
 
4 Year _____  Master _____  Doctorate _____ 
 
Name of College or University: ____________________________________________________________ 
 
Address: ______________________________________________________________________________ 

(Street and Number)                 (City)                 (State)                     (Zip) 
 
Date of Graduation: _____________________  Accredited by: _________________________________ 
 
           
 
 
10. NURSING HOME AT WHICH A.I.T. PROGRAM WILL BE PR OVIDED: 
 
Name of Nursing Home: _________________________________________________________________ 
 
Address: ______________________________________________________________________________ 

(Street and Number)                    (City)                 (State)                              (Zip) 
 
11. APPLICANT SIGNATURE:  
 
I, the undersigned, state that I am the person referred to in this application for licensure in the State of Florida.   
 
I state that these statements are true and correct and recognize that providing false information may result in 
disciplinary action against my license or criminal penalties pursuant to Sections 456.067, 775.082, 775.083, and 
775.084, Florida Statutes. 
 
I hereby authorize all hospitals, institutions or organizations, my references, personal physicians, employers (past and 
present), and all governmental agencies and instruments (local, state, federal or foreign) to release to the Department of 
Health, any information, files and/or records requested by the Department in connection with the processing of this 
application.  I further authorize the Department to release to the organization, individuals, and groups listed above, any 
information which is material to my application.   

 
I understand that Florida law requires me, as an applicant for licensure, to supplement my application after it has been 
submitted if and when any material change in circumstances or conditions occur which might affect the Board of 
Nursing Home Administrators decision concerning my eligibility for licensure. (Section 456.013, Florida Statutes)  
Failure to do so may result in action by the Board including denial of licensure.   

 
I further state that I have carefully read the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely 
without reservations of any kind and I declare that my answers and all statements made by me herein are true and 
correct.  Should I furnish any false information in this application, I understand that such action shall constitute cause 
for denial, suspension, or revocation of any license to practice in the State of Florida in the profession for which I am 
applying.   

 
I also state that I will comply with all requirements for licensure renewal in effect at the time of license renewal, 
including submission of appropriate renewal fees and completion of required continuing education credits. 

 
As a reminder to all applicants, please understand that Section 456.013(1)(a), Florida Statutes, provides that an 
incomplete application shall expire one year after initial filing with the Department. 
 
_________________________________________  _______________________ 
(Signature of Applicant)      (Date) 
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Completed by Preceptor: 
 
Name of Preceptor: ______________________________________________________________ 
 
Mailing Address: ________________________________________________________________ 
                                       (Street and Number)                      (City)                (State)                (Zip) 

 
E-mail Address: _______________________________ 
 
Telephone Number: ____________________________ 
 
License #: __________      
 
AHCA Licensure Status Standard or Conditional:  
(Attached a copy of the latest AHCA licensure and life safety Survey Report)  
 
Number of Beds: __________      SNF: __________     ICF: __________ 
 
 
Administrator-in-Training Agreement: 
 
This agreement entered into by the Administrator-Preceptor, ___________________________,  
 
the Administrator-in-Training, __________________________ and agree to the following conditions: 
 
 The Administrator-Preceptor shall provide supervision and guidance as designated for a  
 
_____________________ period of time commencing on _____________________ as set out in  
 
the guidelines of the Administrator-in-Training Program as provided in the Administrator- 
 
Preceptor’s Training Course. 
 
 The Administrator-in-Training shall perform under the supervision of a duly qualified  
 
Administrator-Preceptor and fulfill all terms and conditions required. 
 
 
________________________________________  ________________________ 
(Signature of Administrator-Preceptor)     (Date) 
 
 

________________________________________  ________________________ 
(Signature of Administrator-in-Training)     (Date) 
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FACILITY ORGANIZATIONAL CHART 
(Preceptor Should Complete) 

Name of Employee Reports To 
  
Activity Coordinator  
  
  
Assistant Administrator   
  
  
Business/Finance Director  
  
  
Director of Nursing  
  
  
Food Services Supervisor  
  
  
Housekeeping Supervisor  
  
  
Maintenance Supervisor  
  
  
Medical Director  
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FACILITY ORGANIZATIONAL CHART 
(Preceptor Should Complete) 

Name of Employee Reports To 
  
Nursing Home Administrator  
  
  
Pharmacy Consultant  
  
  
Rehab Director  
  
  
Risk Manager  
  
  
Social Service Director  
  
  
Volunteer Coordinator  
  
  
 
Statement of Administrator-in-Training/Preceptor: 
We hereby declare that to the best of our knowledge and belief, there are no misrepresentations or falsifications in the statements and answers we have given in this application or in any 
other documents or papers appended hereto. 
______________________________________________  ____________________________________ 
(Signature of Administrator)      (Date) 
 
_________________________________________________________  _____________________________________________ 
(Signature of Administrator-in-Training)     (Date) 
 


