The requirements for licensure by endorsement as a Nursing Home Administrator are as follows. Applicants must:
- Hold a valid active license to practice nursing home administration in another U.S. state, provided that the current requirements for licensure in that state are substantially equivalent to, or more stringent than, current requirements in this state.
- Have successfully passed a national examination which is substantially equivalent to, or more stringent than, the Florida Nursing Home Administrators Examination.
- Have passed the Florida Nursing Home Administrator laws and rules examination.
- Have worked as a fully licensed nursing home administrator for two years within the 5-year period immediately preceding the application by endorsement.
Please note: National examinations for licensure as a nursing home administrator shall be presumed to be substantially equivalent to, or more stringent than, the examination and requirements in this state, unless found otherwise by rule of the board.
Submit your completed application and fees to the board office. To apply online select the “Apply Online” button above.
If you prefer, you may apply using the paper application. To download the paper application, click the “Resources” tab above and select the application for the appropriate licensure type from the “PDF Applications” drop-down menu.
Please download, print, and complete the paper application. Submit your application along with the required fees to:
Board of Nursing Home Administrators
P.O. Box 6330
Tallahassee, FL 32314-6330
Within 7-14 days of receipt of your application, the board office will notify you of the status of your application and any remaining required documents that need to be submitted.
The following documentation is required to complete your application:
- Official Final Transcript- Have your official final transcripts mailed directly from your college or university to the board office at:
Board of Nursing Home Administrators
4052 Bald Cypress Way Bin C-07
Tallahassee, FL 32399-3257
- Official License Verification- If you are licensed or have ever held a Nursing Home Administrator license in another state, contact that state’s licensing office and request for license verification to be sent directly to the Board of Nursing Home Administrators.
- Exam Score- Contact the NAB to have your official national examination score submitted directly to the Board of Nursing Home Administrators.
- Experience Verification- Have your employer(s) send a letter confirming two years of experience as a Nursing Home Administrator within the 5-year period immediately preceding the application.
- Job Description- Have your employer send an original signed and dated copy of your job description.
- Facility Organizational Chart- Have your employer send a copy of the facility organizational chart.
|Initial Licensure Fee||$500.00|
|Unlicensed Activity Fee||$5.00|
Make certified check or money orders payable to the Florida Department of Health, or pay by credit card when applying online.
Click on Chapter or Section Number to View
Chapter 468, Part II: Nursing Home Administrators
Chapter 456: Health Professions and Occupations: General Provisions
Chapter 400, Part II: Nursing Homes and Related Health Care Facilities
Chapter 415, Parts: Adult Protective Services
Chapter 765, Parts I, II, III and IV: Health Care Advance Directives
Chapter 120: Administrative Procedure Act
Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.)
Rules: Chapter 64B10: (Board of Nursing Home Administrators Rules)
Rules: Chapter 64E11: (Division of Environmental Health – Food Hygiene)
Rules: Chapter 64E16: (Division of Environmental Health – Biomedical Waste)
Rules: Chapter 59A4: (Agency for Health Care Administration – Minimum Standards for Nursing Homes)