Nursing Home Administrator Temporary License

Click on the appropriate tab below to see the Initial Licensing Requirements, Process, Fees, Statutes and Administrative Rules for a Nursing Home Administrator Temporary License

A temporary license as a Nursing Home Administrator will only be issued to an applicant who has:

  • Filed an application for licensure by endorsement.
  • Paid the fee for the next laws and rules examination offered in this state.

A temporary license is valid for the nursing home administrator applicant only at the facility for which it is issued and may not be transferred to another facility or to another applicant.

A temporary license will only be issued one time and cannot be renewed or extended.

The applicant must take and pass the next laws and rules examination offered in this state following issuance of a temporary license. The temporary license is valid until the results of the examination are certified by the board and the applicant is notified.

Submit your completed application and fees to the board office. To apply online select the “Apply Online” button above.

If you prefer, you may apply using the paper applicationTo download the paper application, click the “Resources” tab above and select the application for the appropriate licensure type from the “PDF Applications” drop-down menu.

Please download, print, and complete the paper application. Submit your application along with the required fees to:

Board of Nursing Home Administrators
P.O. Box 6330
Tallahassee, FL 32314-6330

The following documentation is required to complete your application:

Endorsement Application- Complete and submit the endorsement application, fees, and required documentation to the board office. To review licensure requirements for endorsement, click the “Change Profession” button above and select “Nursing Home Administrator by Endorsement” from the License Type list.


Temporary License:

Application Fee$325.00
Licensure Fee$150.00
TOTAL FEE$475.00

Make certified check or money orders payable to the Florida Department of Health, or pay by credit card when applying online.

Click on Chapter or Section Number to View

Florida Statutes

Chapter 468, Part II: Nursing Home Administrators
Chapter 456: Health Professions and Occupations: General Provisions
Chapter 400, Part II: Nursing Homes and Related Health Care Facilities
Chapter 415, Parts: Adult Protective Services
Chapter 765, Parts I, II, III and IV: Health Care Advance Directives
Chapter 120: Administrative Procedure Act

Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.)

Rules: Chapter 64B10: (Board of Nursing Home Administrators Rules)
Rules: Chapter 64E11: (Division of Environmental Health – Food Hygiene)
Rules: Chapter 64E16: (Division of Environmental Health – Biomedical Waste)
Rules: Chapter 59A4: (Agency for Health Care Administration – Minimum Standards for Nursing Homes)